Australian Music

Started by semloh, Friday 12 August 2011, 08:41

Previous topic - Next topic

semloh

Thank you for this superb rarity. As an Australian, I should perhaps be embarrassed that I have never heard of, let alone heard the music of, either composer and even more so when I found a lengthy entry in Wikipedia.  With its brooding Baxian soundworld and finely detailed orchestration, I wonder how a self-taught composer developed such a style. Is the other piece on the record similar in style?

jerfilm

Thanks to Sicmu for the Hughes upload. 

I'm not familiar with many Oz composers, but my favorite is Alfted Hill (1870-1960).   Among other things, I have a recording of what is purportedly Symphony #3 in b subtitled Australia.  But #3 is in Bb and is subtitled the Joy of Life - my favorite of the bunch.  So is the b minor #2? 

Who are other Romantic composers from Australia?   Are they played as little on their home turf as Romantic American composers are here in the US?

Jerry

Mark Thomas

Jerfilm, Hill's Symphony No.2 in E flat is "The Joy of Life". It has a very attractive choral finale. Although I have quite a few of the non-commercially recorded Hill symphonies in my collection, I'm afraid that I don't have a note of any in B minor.

jerfilm

Thanks Mark.  I'm not sure how my database got changed for the Joy of Life.   The choral finale of Symphony #2 that you pointed out  is one of my (many) favorite moments in all of music.  It's melody sounds like some hymn you have heard but you can't put your finger on it.    Probably becuz it isn't a hymn.....

Anyway, I did some internet research and found the 13 symphonys of Hill and they are as follows:

Alfred Hill Symphonys

Symphony # 1 in B – later retitled Maori Symphony
Symphony # 2 in Eb – The Joy of Life
Symphony # 3 in  b  - Australia
Symphony # 4 in c -The Pursuit of Happiness
Symphony # 5 in a – The Carnival
Symphony # 6 in Bb – Celtic
Symphony # 7 in e
Symphony # 8 in A for string orchestra