Swedish music

Started by cjvinthechair, Sunday 04 September 2011, 15:43

Previous topic - Next topic

cjvinthechair

Can't tell you how much I enjoy browsing this site, finding many composers quite unknown to me, more details on those I'm just beginning to learn a little about, and of course the marvellous downloads section.
Since a good few of my new composer acquaintances are Swedish, I looked amongst the download topics for a Swedish section, but unless I'm being even dimmer than usual, haven't spotted one. So much else IS up there that I wonder if there's some good reason for its absence, or maybe I can prevail on someone to start one.
Many thanks to everyone who, however unwittingly, is contributing to my belated musical education. It's a joy, really, to visit the site !

eschiss1

I think there are some recordings of unrecorded Swedish works (and recorded works in unavailable performances) out there, so such a folder could be started. I've heard a really good Segerstam broadcast of Pettersson's 4th symphony myself (my digitized version is incomplete though I might be able to fix that at some point), also a violin concerto by a Melcher Melchers (1882-1961), some other things I think...

britishcomposer

"a Melcher Melchers" - Eric do I understand you rightly: do you have a recording of Melcher's Concerto? I ADORE him! His String Quartet op 17 is one of the finest pieces of scandinavian chamber music I know. A lot of Franck and Ravel is obvious but I am probably the only one who detects hints of Malipiero as well. Nevertheless, this is a gorgeous piece. The Sonatas for violin and cello are also fine. Haven't heard his Symphony yet though I have a broadcast from SR2 with Tor Mann somewhere I think. He was the teacher of Erland von Koch who liked him very much.

X. Trapnel

Melcher Melcher's Symphony in D minor and Piano Concerto no. 2 are available on Phono Suecia (PSCD 717); I haven't heard them in a while but will do so now.

eschiss1