Chris Fifield's new book...

Started by Alan Howe, Friday 19 September 2014, 00:24

Previous topic - Next topic

Balapoel

Ah, I understand. That period of course has interested me for some time, and I compiled a list for my own exploration. I tallied some 138 composers and 274 symphonies, mainly represented by German, French, English, Czech, Russian, and Swedish composers.

Gareth Vaughan

QuoteJadassohn (Nos. 1-2)

Jadasssohn wrote 4 symphonies. These have been recorded (and are awaiting release) by CPO.

Aramiarz

Dear Alan
Interesting expresion: sung symphonist, excuse me the question, what is this? Some exemples?

Balapoel

Quote from: Gareth Vaughan on Monday 13 October 2014, 10:57
QuoteJadassohn (Nos. 1-2)

Jadasssohn wrote 4 symphonies. These have been recorded (and are awaiting release) by CPO.

I know. I (like Chris) was only considering symphonies written between Beethoven 9 and Brahms 1...

And, I've been hearing about the CPO releases for about 4 years now...

Alan Howe

"sung symphonist" = a recognised symphonist

Gareth Vaughan

Sorry, Balapoel. Misunderstood you.

eschiss1

Alan Howe:
"Chris avoided the sung symphonists..."

One can see Mr. Fifield doesn't completely avoid sung symphonists - just because many forum members can't abide Brahms' symphonies (I blame torturous, poor performances) doesn't make him an unrecognised symphonist :)

I do need to ask though- is Goetz Symphony No.2 his Symphony in F major (is he known to have written another before, and I'd forgotten- I seem to recall he'd written 2, but forgot the order...) - or is this a hitherto unknown or even-less-known symphony (maybe a little bit like Hans Huber's symphony A major symphony w/o number, composed between his Tell and Böcklin syms. ...)

Balapoel

Goetz's fragments:
Symphony (No. 1) in e minor (destroyed except for fragment) (1867)
Symphony (No. 2) in F major, Op. 9 (1873)

There's also sketches for a third piano concerto (in d minor, dating from 1876, the year he died).