News:

BEFORE POSTING read our Guidelines.

Main Menu

Overblown great music?

Started by Alan Howe, Friday 02 September 2016, 21:10

Previous topic - Next topic

Alan Howe

QuoteEither you overperform him or you don't perform him at all.

Speaking personally, I'd give him a total rest...

adriano

To me, overperforming Mozart and Beethoven is a bigger problem :-)
With all my respect for Mahler's "Handwerk", his 7th is the most boring and less tense of his Symphonies - considering his previous 6th and what all will be delivered in the 9th. The 8th has quite some dull lenghts too...

@Double-A: You are right about your Zurich time: I was there only from 1964 on, and even then, very little people knew about Mahler. At that time I studied architecture, and it was a French fellow student who intoduced me to Mahler, by giving me Klemperer's EMI LP of the Fourth, which I found strange and a rather boring. Now I like it much better, but depending on which interpretation... Then I met musicologist Willy Reich, so I got to know more about Mahler.

If I am not wrong, in 1967 or 1968, Klemperer conducted a Mahler Symphony ("Resurrection?") at the Zurich Tonhalle. I was allowed to follow the rehearsals and to talk with the Maestro. One or two years later I came across to George Sebastian's recording of the Adagio of Mahler's Tenth (coupled with Schoenberg's "Verklärte Nacht", a wonderful recording) - and it was mainly because of this Adagio I started loving this composer. Would I ever be asked to conduct a Mahler Symphony, I would just chose this separate movement - coupled with some of his orchestral Lieder, wich I also adore.