Anton Simon PC & Chaminade Suite No.1

Started by Alan Howe, Friday 28 February 2020, 10:13

Previous topic - Next topic

eschiss1

oh, I was thinking of James Simon (1880-1944) with that tangential comment. About whom more some other time.

eschiss1

also, it's " Danse de Bayadères : fantaisie pour grand orchestre, op. 34" - material @ Fleisher :) - ded to Edouard Salomon.

4candles

Hi markthomas.

Others have obviously invested far more time in it than I have, it seems, but I think my interest in this composer and his Piano Concerto in particular was piqued by a book review (?) I read about a decade ago mentioning the work as being forgotten or worthy of revival.

I'm not a professional musician, nor do I claim to be any kind of expert in classical music, as some other amateur musicians like to think they are. So I'm not directly aware of the work's merit, other than the fact it was good enough for Mahler to take on as conductor during a trip to Moscow in 1897, with Victor Staub as soloist. And Simon seems to have come from good stock, too, having trained at the Paris Conservatoire. Without having yet heard it, I imagine it won't be particularly revolutionary. I just like to know certain composers who are finally getting some 'time in the sun', so to speak.

I've heard good things about the other couple of recordings available including works by Simon. I can only go on what I read and make my own mind up about.

Simon's workslist seems pretty extensive, so after I've heard this recording, I'm sure I'd like to hear more.

Thanks and best wishes.

4candles

A certain 'princess ida' has left a review of the Anton Simon disk on Amazon UK here, which gives a summary impression of all works included.

4c

musiclover