Introduce yourself here.....

Started by jerfilm, Thursday 28 October 2010, 23:39

Previous topic - Next topic

Amphissa

I know nothing about the insurance business, but I do know the environs you inhabit. I worked on 5th Avenue and lived on upper east side until I moved to a little village called Valley Cottage, just across the Tappan Zee from you. I used to make regular skips over to Zachy's where my wine was stored and flew in/out of the Westchester airport.

And, of course, visited Rachmaninoff's gravesite several times at Kensico in Valhalla.

Grh

Hello all
I am an archaeologist by trade and have arrived late in life to classical (awful term) music.  My preferences overlap with the focus of this group, in that I am always open to new sounds.  I listen regularly to Alfred Schnittke, Shostakovich, Hans Henze, Per Norgard, Kalevi Aho, Philip Glass, and (currently) a bevy of modern French composers (Dalbavie and Dusapin are at the top).  I fully realize that these are not composers featured herein.  I am not troubled by the apparent inconsistency in music presented and discussed.  For example, I could never imagine R. Gliere and Roger Sessions in the same room, although both are unsung.  I appreciate the availability of downloads as the current music-availability world is abridged.   
Best regards

minacciosa