American Music

Started by Amphissa, Monday 05 September 2011, 22:49

Previous topic - Next topic

shamokin88

I have deleted the Schuman 2 file twice; it is now in its third upload incarnation with yet another URL [/?slu36 . . . .] which I hope solves the problem. This baffles me - I'm new at this but everything looked all right. Please let me know. Shamokin88.

Dundonnell

Third time lucky ;D

The download works now :)

It is fascinating to be able to listen to the symphony which, as you know, was withdrawn by the composer. The performance you have been able to make available is, as you say, the last time it was performed. I have always found this decision by Schuman rather strange. Copland certainly expressed his very strong admiration for the symphony.

jerfilm

When I tried to download the Schuman file I was directed back to my own Mediafire Account. The Diamond and the Burlingame Hill downloaded perfectly.

I had the same experience with a different file the other day.  Then I rebooted AOL and it worked fine.  But AOL does funny things and I'm learning to use Firefox for a lot of downloading and uploading kinds of events.

Jerry

eschiss1

Re Schuman 2 - yay! Fortunately (if only for curiosity's sake... :) I've only heard it once, I mean...) Harris' also withdrawn 2nd has been performed recently(ish) and recorded, but indeed no sign of this - thanks! (The online record says 1936-7, though, not 1938- I don't know one way the other myself.)

Amphissa

Charles Martin Loeffler was born in Germany but immigrated to the U.S. when young and got his citizenship as quickly as legally possible after arriving. He was one of the most prominent composers and musicians in Boston for more than 50 years. So, since Wikipedia has him on the list of American composers, I'll put him in the American folder. I have a couple more pieces by him to upload, but "A Pagan Poem" is one of his more interesting.

X. Trapnel