Atterberg's Romantic Prelude to Per Svinaher

Started by Mark Thomas, Friday 01 February 2013, 08:03

Previous topic - Next topic

Mark Thomas

Many thanks for this addition to the Downloads board, Mathais. What a lushly late romantic piece. To my shame, I had no idea that Atterberg had written ballets.

M. Henriksen

The exact title of Atterberg's Pantomime-Ballet is Per Svinaherde. Or Per the Swineherd in English. It's based on a tale by H.C. Andersen.
Kurt Atterberg suggested the following pieces from the ballet to be performed either separately or as a suite:

Romantic Prelude (9 min)
Menuett (3 min)
Polonaise burlesque (5 min)
The Prince proposes (8 min)
Scherzo (5 min)
Danse capricieuse (5 min)
Valse fantastique - Finale (10 min)

So here's 45 minutes of ballet music for someone to record.

Morten

eschiss1

Since this was mentioned- though I am not an expert...

Atterberg wrote at least 3 ballet scores/ballet-related works- this, also op.17 De fåvitska jungfrurna (1920?), and Ballet sketches (1919). A rhapsody from op.17 has been recorded at least once, I think (or at least it has the same name and I assume is related to the ballet?)

TerraEpon

The Rhapsody that's recorded on CPO (on the piano concerto disc) is Op. 1. If that's what you mean.

eschiss1

no, there's an Atterberg Rhapsody De fåvitska jungfrurna that's appeared on LP (Swedish Society Discofil Slt 33192, 1964) I think. (Published in 1948 as an orchestral work, "De favitska jungfrurna : rhapsody on old Swedish folk songs ; op. 17 = The wise and the foolish virgins".) I am guessing it is related to the ballet that Wikipedia lists under this title which may not have been published in that form, not sure. (Or, Wikipedia's editor who entered that as a ballet may simply be mistaken, and I for repeating it.)

Hrm, maybe not.

In 1921 Edition Suecia (the music publisher, not the recording house) published by Atterberg this-