Most rewarding performance of an unsung composer's piece

Started by Ilja, Monday 15 February 2016, 19:36

Previous topic - Next topic

pcc

I do get confused here in the US, being a professional musician myself, as to what my colleagues' priorities are; I noticed the union discussion within an earlier forum regarding the New Republic's article on pro orchestras, and I find myself generally being anti-music union. This is strange to me because I and my family for generations have been strongly pro-labour, and I support unions in general, and my stance would appear to be shooting myself in the foot.  However, that experience and one in Indianapolis where a score I had written for a silent film had to be cut into 2 sections because the film ran 102 minutes (12 minutes outside the current 90-min. union max, though the film had played accompanied by union musicians in 1924 without an intermission) put me off US music unions pretty strongly. In NATOMA it was really awful because the opera closes with the heroine entering a convent to atone for a murder she has just committed; there is the sound of an offstage women's chorus, then the orchestra builds during the postlude in promising Herbert style towards a fff tutti fermata'd C-G-C to close (and it's a HUGE orchestra, including bass clarinet, contrabassoon, organ, and a full percussion battery) -- but here, nothing!!! To quote Marvin the Martian's whiny plaint from the Warner Bros. cartoon Duck Dodgers in the 24 1/2 Century, "There was supposed to be a 'ka-boom' -- where's the earthshattering 'ka-boom'?"  This was the first full public hearing of NATOMA since 1914, incidentally, and a new score and parts had been specially prepared over two years by one incredibly dedicated man. 

Ilja

QuoteHow frightful! I can't imagine that happening in the UK, thank God! What utter lack of respect for both music and audience. Do these so called "musicians" actually LIKE music?