The English Flute Unheard

Started by MikePurton, Saturday 28 April 2018, 20:29

Previous topic - Next topic

MikePurton

I'm very new to Unsung Composers so forgive me if I'm in the wrong place or straying off topic or whatever. As English 'Romantic' music seems to be very popular, the companion release to MPR102 Parry - The Complete Music for String Quartet is MPR101 Idyll - The English Flute Unheard. The playist is 100% world premiere commercial recordings of music by Richard Walthew, Cyril Bradley Rootham, Robin Milford and Cecil Armstrong Gibbs. Stanley Bates is a little 'Hindemithy' (I am getting to learn the jargon), Norman Demuth is very Debussyish in style, John White is Messiaenic and Leonard Salzedo is simply delightful and Sephardic. Excellent reviews so far from the British Flute Society and the British Music Society. These are played by the excellent James Dutton (Flute) and Oliver Davies (Piano), Oliver being a fabulous source of info about unsung composers (I am meeting with him soon to discuss potential projects). Check all this out at my website www.mikepurtonrecording.com where you can hear samples.

MikePurton

Forgot to add, there is a beautiful Theme and Variations by Sir George Henschel.

eschiss1

Re Bate... I think there's been interest in Bate (Bates? are we speaking of the same gentleman?) here in the recent past (recent enough to be relevant to forum-rule considerations :) ), as when a disc of Bate/Bax cello concertos has been released, but I may be mistaken... no, never mind, very little posted about him since 2013 or so. Hrm. (Was just now thinking about Rootham though, whose G minor violin sonata of 1925 - recorded only once I know of - seems a good choice for another thread given that undersung violin sonatas ready and deserving for/of performance might be part of an appropriate subject...)

rosflute