Raff - Symphony No. 3 - 2019-2020 Performances

Started by Justin, Wednesday 31 July 2019, 03:32

Previous topic - Next topic

tpaloj

Great find eschiss1. Espoo is only half an hour from downtown Helsinki and the venue is easily found and accessible. 25 euros for tickets is a steal, too.

QuoteWould it be a problem that this is a 43-piece orchestra, though?
The symphony requires 20 players for all other instruments discounting the strings. The other 23 players, for strings - with an arrangement of something like 8-6-4-3-2 - is less than Wagnerian but still in the realm of standard period section size. Although I'm not an expert, I'd like to think Raff would benefit from a smaller string section and it would not be detrimental, the music is so well written to work either way.

Alan Howe

I can (just about) accept that. But the question for me, as I said, is whether this would be a HIP-influenced performance, with vibrato-less strings, etc. I can go some of the way with smaller orchestras playing, say, Brahms symphonies (Mackerras' cycle with Scottish Chamber Orchestra makes sense), but going further down the HIP route (e.g. Ticciati's with the same orchestra) brings the law of diminishing returns, with poorly sustained legato from the strings, broken phrasing and a general lack of weight.

Incidentally, there's a lovely performance of Raff's 1st Cello Concerto on YouTube which Ilja kindly uploaded:
http://www.unsungcomposers.com/forum/index.php/topic,7153.msg75994.html#msg75994
It's conducted by Venzago, but with the Bern Symphony Orchestra - a rather bigger ensemble than the Tapiola Sinfonietta.

FBerwald

Christoph Croisé is committed to perform the 2nd cello concerto in 2022.

eschiss1