Josef Holbrooke Symphonic Poems

Started by sdtom, Tuesday 23 June 2009, 16:51

Previous topic - Next topic

sdtom

4 program works which I am just beginning to listen to.  One of them was a bit much as it consisted of 14 minutes of variation of 'Three Blind Mice'

Gareth Vaughan

But what highly inventive variations! A great fun piece and one of Sir Henry Woods' favourites. I reported on this disk under the topic "Josef Holbrooke" as I was instrumental in getting the music recorded. As I said, I think Howard Griffiths and the Brandenburgers play Holbrooke superbly and really understand his idiom, which seems to elude most modern conductors. Holbrooke is a brilliant orchestrator and possesses a truly individual voice as a composer. As you will have realised, I am something of a Holbrooke champion!

Mark Thomas

My own first reactions to the Three Blind Mice Variations were a mite negative too but, once you've listened a couple of times, you realise just how witty and impishly clever they are. I was reminded of Dohnanyi's Variations on a Nursery Song, which is "Twinkle, twinkle, little star" of course. The other three works on the CD have real power and dramatic force but these Variations show another, more unbuttoned but just as masterful, side to Holbrooke's compositional character. I do hope that this release is a success for cpo. I'd love to have more of his music from Griffiths and the Brandenburgers.

sdtom

So far I've found the Poe work "Amontillado" and "The Viking" most interesting.  I'm now of course wondering about the other 34 pieces he did on Poe material.

Gareth Vaughan

"Ulalume", of course, is another Poe inspired piece - and a very fine one, in my view. His first symphonic poem is "The Raven", based on Poe's poem of that name. It has been recorded before by Marco Polo - a dreary performance which does it no credit whatsoever. Howard Griffiths is interested in committing it to disk.