News:

BEFORE POSTING read our Guidelines.

Main Menu

Glazunov 4 a hit!

Started by mbhaub, Friday 22 March 2024, 19:15

Previous topic - Next topic

mbhaub

I just have to share this.
Last evening one orchestra I play in (on first bassoon) played Glazunov's Fourth Symphony. I've been bugging the conductor for several years to give it a go and this year he finally gave in. I loaned him a CD and a score and he realized there's some terrific, beautiful music there.

Needless to say, no one in the orchestra had ever played it, most had never heard of it. During rehearsals people were coming around and really got enthusiastic about it. "We should play more of his music -- this is great!" was typical.

But after the concert it was the audience that startled me. They couldn't have known it either, and right as the thrilling, ecstatic conclusion of the symphony the audience immediately rose to its feet, Applause was thunderous and the "bravos" very prominent. They really, really liked it. Afterwards, I got comments from several attendees as why no one plays this, why hadn't they ever heard of it?

It's not easy music at all. The six flats are kind of intimidating to strings, but our amateur group did an excellent job with only a couple of mishaps, mostly from a timpanist who got lost a couple of times. We did have eight rehearsals for the concert and that helped.

But Glazunov sure made an impression. The conductor has been pretty good about programming more obscure music, but when it comes to big symphonies not so much. This Fourth Symphony really opened his eyes as to what other glories he might have missed. I've already suggested Raff's 3rd or 5th, Bloch's C sharp minor, Atterberg's 3rd or 6th.  I can only hope.

Alan Howe

This is extremely encouraging, not to say genuinely exciting. Will there be a press review of some kind?

Here's an unmissable bargain, by the way:
https://www.prestomusic.com/classical/products/8468583--glazunov-the-complete-symphonies-concertos