The one unsung piano sonata everyone should hear!

Started by LateRomantic75, Monday 30 December 2013, 22:28

Previous topic - Next topic

LateRomantic75

I'll limit myself to one contribution, as to prevent indulging in that oh-so dreaded list-making! :P I'm no expert in the field of solo piano music as my main focus is orchestral music, but I must say that one unsung piano sonata that has struck me like no other is Glazunov's First. It's a simply stunning work, filled with a passion that defies any notions that Glazunov was a pedestrian composer. Its melodies have that rare ability to stick in one's head. Of particular note is the raptly beautiful slow movement. This work is probably in my top five piano sonatas, or at least my top ten. Steven Coombs' magisterial recording on Hyperion handles the work's virtuosic demands with aplomb and makes the work out to be a masterpiece.

Does anyone else know this work? What are some other remarkable piano sonatas from the realm of the unsungs?

kolaboy

The Niels Gade Op.28 - though the Blyme performance (Marco Polo) does not do justice to the piece. As for the sonata itself, beautiful themes abound.

mbhaub

I enjoy all three of Korngold's sonatas, but the 2nd is my favorite, and Martin Jones on Nimbus is just fine with me. Like most of Korngold, it deserves much more attention, but alas, many pianists are unaware it even exists. I'm no pianist, but comparing the score to say a sonata by Beethoven or Liszt it seems that Korngold makes extraordinary demands on the player. Too bad he didn't orchestrate it.

Dave